BRING AIR TO QUEBEC,
RIGHT HERE, RIGHT NOW.
#BreatHere
Visuel BreatHere

#BreatHere

A LOCAL SOLUTION
TO A GLOBAL PROBLEM.

As part of the Code Life Ventilator Challenge, an ambitious 2-week challenge that involved designing, assembling, testing and validating a concept with medical stakeholders, a pressure-controlled patient triggered ventilator was successfully completed by a team from Sherbrooke.

This multidisciplinary team of mechanical and electrical design specialists, clinical nurses, respiratory therapists, physicians and engineering students worked hard to assemble a ventilator that was successfully tested at the Centre de recherche et de formation par simulation of the Cégep de Sherbrooke last weekend by various medical stakeholders on an artificial lung.

 Several institutions and businesses in the region participated in the project by providing free equipment, tools, premises or their expertise to achieve this feat in just 8 days: Bishop’s University, Université de Sherbrooke, Cégep de Sherbrooke, ÉlectroMag, RS Conception, Arjo, Énergie Solutions Air and Orixha.

This ventilator stands out from most prototypes by using robust technologies available for rapid large-scale production. In addition, it works directly with the air and oxygen lines available in hospitals and other health centers. Another major distinction is that the equipment integrates most of the parameters and adjustments found on certified ventilators, including the ability to ventilate according to the patient’s needs by detecting when the patient is trying to take an inspiration.

The ventilator is very easy to use and meets the clinical needs related to COVID-19. The team is in the process of having the device certified.

THE SOLUTION…

OUR MACHINE

Steps have been taken with various regional companies to aim for a regional production of 1,000 units per week. The assistance of the provincial and federal governments in accelerating the certification process and targeting local needs will be greatly appreciated.

Bring air to Quebec, right here, right now.
#BreatHere #Coronavirus #Covid19 #PressureControlledVentilator #cavabienaller

Vidéo BreatHere

MEET

OUR TEAM

By placing great importance on safety, simplicity and efficiency, this Sherbrooke team has designed a respirator that is out of the ordinary to overcome a problem that is just as much so.

Bring air to Quebec, right here, right now.
#BreatHere #Coronavirus #Covid19 #PressureControlledVentilator #cavabienaller

Bruno Courtemanche
William Chabot-Labbé
Émilie Gosselin
Félix Lalumière
Charles Bilodeau
Maryse Marceau-Grimard

Sébastien Désilets
Karine Grondin
Christophe Bourassa
Olivier Duhamel
Louis Grenier
Xavier Lamarche

Corinne Cournoyer
Mathieu Nadeau
Jeremy Cool
William Lemaire
Michaël Sage
Julien Lamarche

THANKS TO

OUR PARTNERS

Together we are building the future #cavabienaller

LEARN MORE

CONTACT US

CHOISISSEZ DE DONNER DE L'AIR
AU QUÉBEC, ICI, MAINTENANT
#BreatHere
Visuel BreatHere

#BreatHere

UNE SOLUTION LOCALE
À UN PROBLÈME GLOBAL.

Dans le cadre du concours Code Life Ventilator Challenge, un ambitieux défi de 2 semaines consistant à concevoir, assembler, tester et valider un concept avec des intervenants du milieu médical, un respirateur à pression et demande contrôlée a été réalisé avec succès par une équipe de Sherbrooke.

Cette équipe pluridisciplinaire composée de spécialistes en conception mécanique et électrique, d’infirmiers cliniciens, d’inhalothérapeutes, de médecins et d’étudiants en ingénierie a travaillé d’arrachepied pour assembler un respirateur qui a été testé avec franc succès au Centre de recherche et de formation par simulation du Cégep de Sherbrooke la fin de semaine dernière par différents intervenants médicaux sur un poumon artificiel.

Plusieurs institutions et entreprises de la région ont participé à la réalisation de ce projet en fournissant gracieusement du matériel, des outils, des locaux ou leur expertise pour parvenir à réaliser ce tour de force en à peine 8 jours: l’Université Bishop’s, l’Université de Sherbrooke, le Cégep de Sherbrooke, ÉlectroMag, RS Conception, Arjo, Énergie Solutions Air et Orixha.

Ce respirateur se démarque de la plupart des prototypes en utilisant des technologies robustes et disponibles pour une production à grande échelle rapidement. De plus, il fonctionne directement avec les lignes d’air et d’oxygène disponibles dans les hôpitaux et autres centres de santé. Autre distinction majeure, l’équipement intègre la plupart des paramètres et ajustements qu’on retrouve sur les respirateurs certifiés, dont la possibilité de ventiler selon les besoins du patient, en détectant quand le patient tente de prendre une inspiration.

D’une grande facilité d’utilisation, le respirateur répond aux besoins cliniques reliés au COVID-19. L’équipe est en démarche pour faire certifier l’appareil.

LA SOLUTION…

NOTRE MACHINE

Des démarches ont été amorcées avec différentes entreprises régionales afin viser une production régionale de 1000 unités par semaines. L’aide du gouvernement provincial et fédéral pour accélérer les processus de certification et cibler les besoins locaux sera grandement appréciée.

Donnez de l’air au Québec, ici, maintenant.
#BreatHere #Coronavirus #Covid19 #PressureControlledVentilator #cavabienaller

Vidéo BreatHere

RENCONTREZ

NOTRE ÉQUIPE

En accordant une grande importance à la sécurité, à la simplicité et à l’efficacité, notre équipe de Sherbrooke a conçu un respirateur hors du commun pour pallier à un problème qui l’est tout autant.

Donnez de l’air au Québec, ici, maintenant.
#BreatHere #Coronavirus #Covid19 #PressureControlledVentilator #cavabienaller

Bruno Courtemanche
William Chabot-Labbé
Émilie Gosselin
Félix Lalumière
Charles Bilodeau
Maryse Marceau-Grimard

Sébastien Désilets
Karine Grondin
Christophe Bourassa
Olivier Duhamel
Louis Grenier
Xavier Lamarche

Corinne Cournoyer
Mathieu Nadeau
Jeremy Cool
William Lemaire
Michaël Sage
Julien Lamarche

MERCI À

NOS PARTENAIRES

Ensemble, nous bâtissons le futur #cavabienaller

EN SAVOIR PLUS

NOUS JOINDRE